powertrain

Powertrain
(Engine & Transmission)

Repairing a modern vehicle is more science than elbow grease. The engine and transmission are complex, intricate systems that use hardware and software technology with more moving parts than most vehicle systems. Diagnosing a problem can be a complicated process because one problem could actually be a sign of a number of other underlying issues.

 

If you’re experiencing a problem, you can trust Certified Service to help you find the best solve for your vehicle’s health.

Check out our other offers

Engine

Design & Performance

Engines from GM Genuine Parts are engineered and built to meet or exceed Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) specifications. And engines from GM Genuine Parts go through months of rigorous validation and testing to ensure optimal performance and durability.

GM Genuine Parts Engines Provide

  • The same engineering standards that go into every new GM vehicle
  • The latest enhancements and improvements
  • Validation and durability standards equal to those in new GM vehicle engines
  • Test certification under stringent and demanding conditions at state-of-the-art labs

Nationwide 3-Year or 160,000 KM Limited Warranty

You can be confident that the GM Genuine Parts engine built for your vehicle will function as originally designed and engineered. That reliability is backed by a fully transferable Limited Warranty on parts and labour for 3 years or 160,000 kilometres, whichever comes first.

Automatic Transmission

Design & Performance

Each automatic transmission and transfer case from GM Genuine Parts is factory engineered and rigorously tested to deliver smooth, consistent performance. The latest engineering advancements are incorporated into every transmission for years of reliable operation.

GM Genuine Parts transmissions, transfer cases, and components provide:

  • The same engineering standards that go into every GM vehicle
  • The latest enhancements and improvements found in a new transmission
  • Durability standards equal to those in new GM vehicle transmissions and transfer cases
  • Test certification under stringent and demanding conditions at state-of-the-art-labs

Nationwide 3-Year or 160,000 KM Limited Warranty

You can be confident that the GM Genuine Parts automatic transmission or transfer case built for your vehicle will function as originally designed and engineered. That reliability is backed by a fully transferable limited warranty on parts and labour for 3 years or 160,000 kilometres, whichever occurs first.

Manual Transmission

Design & Performance

When you purchase a GM Genuine Parts manual transmission, you can rest assured that you're getting the same unbeatable quality that came with your new vehicle. Every GM Genuine Parts manual transmission is engineered to GM specifications and designed to fit and operate perfectly, right from the start.

Nationwide 1-Year or 20,000 KM Limited Warranty

GM Genuine Parts manual transmissions come with a transferable limited warranty on parts and labour for 1 year or 20,000 kilometres, whichever occurs first. All the more reason you can rely on Genuine GM Parts manual transmissions.

Limited Lifetime Parts Warranty

The GM Genuine Parts engine, transmission and transfer case are covered by the Limited Lifetime Parts Warranty that’s offered exclusively at your Chevrolet, Buick, GMC, or Cadillac dealer.

Powertrain Facts

Transmission System Messages On Driver Information Center

If there is a transmission issue that requires immediate attention, the Driver Information Center may display one of the following messages:

Service Transmission

This message displays if there is a problem with the transmission. See your dealer for transmission service.

Shift to Park

This message displays when the transmission needs to be shifted to P (Park). This may appear when attempting to remove the key from the ignition if the vehicle is not in P (Park).

Transmission Hot — Idle Engine

A transmission hot message may display if the automatic transmission fluid is too hot. Driving under this condition can damage the vehicle. Stop and idle the engine to cool the automatic transmission fluid. This message clears when the transmission fluid has cooled sufficiently.

Checking Automatic Transmission Fluid

It is not necessary to check the transmission fluid level. A transmission fluid leak is the only reason for fluid loss. If a leak occurs, take the vehicle to your dealer and have it repaired as soon as possible.

 

There is a special procedure for checking and changing the transmission fluid. Since this procedure is difficult, this type of transmission repair should be done at your dealer. Change the fluid at the intervals listed in the Maintenance Schedule of your Owner’s Manual and be sure to use the fluid listed under Recommended Fluids and Lubricants.

When to Have Automatic Transmission Fluid Changed

Automatic transmission fluid should be drained and replaced as listed in the Maintenance Schedule of your Owner’s Manual.

When To Have Manual Transmission Fluid Changed

Manual transmission fluid should be drained and replaced as listed in the Maintenance Schedule of your Owner’s Manual.

If you have any questions, inquiries or concerns, please contact your preferred dealer below.

  • Limitations apply. Parts and labour warranty when sold over the counter and REPAIRED by a GM Dealer or qualified installing Independent Service Center (ISC), on-highway applications only. Parts only warranty when consumer repaired or when installed in non-highway application. Coverage limited to defects in material and/or workmanship of the specific part only.

powertrain

Groupe motopropulseur
(moteur et boîte de vitesses)

Groupe motopropulseur
(moteur et boîte de vitesses)

La réparation d’un véhicule moderne relève plus de la science que du bricolage. Le moteur et la boîte de vitesses sont des systèmes sophistiqués et complexes qui utilisent des technologies matérielles et logicielles et comportent plus de pièces mobiles que la plupart des autres systèmes automobiles. Le diagnostic d’un problème peut être un processus compliqué car un problème peut en fait être le signe d’un certain nombre d’autres problèmes sous-jacents.

 

Si vous rencontrez un problème, vous pouvez faire confiance au Service Certifié pour vous aider à trouver la meilleure solution pour la bonne santé de votre véhicule.

Consulter nos autres offres

Moteur

Conception et performance

Les moteurs provenant des pièces d’origine GM sont conçus et fabriqués pour satisfaire ou dépasser les spécifications des constructeurs d’équipement d’origine. De plus, les moteurs des pièces d’origine GM sont soumis à des mois de validation et de tests rigoureux pour garantir des performances et une durabilité optimales.

Les moteurs des pièces d’origine GM offrent

  • Les mêmes normes d’ingénierie que celles qui sont appliquées à chaque véhicule neuf GM
  • Les dernières améliorations et optimisations
  • Des normes de validation et de durabilité équivalentes à celles des moteurs des véhicules neufs GM
  • La certification des essais dans des conditions rigoureuses et exigeantes dans des laboratoires ultramodernes

Une garantie nationale limitée de 3 ans ou 160 000 km

Vous pouvez être sûr que le moteur des pièces d’origine GM fabriqué pour votre véhicule fonctionnera comme il a été conçu et fabriqué à l’origine. Cette fiabilité est appuyée par une garantie limitée entièrement transférable sur les pièces et la main-d’œuvre pendant 3 ans ou 160 000 kilomètres, selon la première éventualité.

Boîte automatique

Conception et performance

Chaque boîte de vitesses automatique et boîte de transfert des pièces d’origine GM est conçue en usine et rigoureusement testée pour offrir des performances régulières et constantes. Les dernières avancées en matière d’ingénierie sont intégrées à chaque transmission, pour assurer des années de fonctionnement sans souci.

Les boîtes de vitesses, les boîtes de transfert et les composants des pièces d’origine GM offrent :

  • Les mêmes normes d’ingénierie que celles qui équipent chaque véhicule GM
  • Les dernières améliorations et optimisations trouvées dans une boîte de vitesses neuve
  • Des normes de durabilité identiques à celles des boîtes de vitesses et des boîtes de transfert des véhicules neufs GM
  • La certification des essais dans des conditions rigoureuses et exigeantes dans des laboratoires ultramodernes

Une garantie nationale limitée de 3 ans ou 160 000 km

Vous pouvez être sûr que la boîte de vitesses automatique ou la boîte de transfert des pièces d’origine GM fabriquée pour votre véhicule fonctionnera comme elle a été conçue et fabriquée à l’origine. Cette fiabilité est appuyée par une garantie limitée entièrement transférable sur les pièces et la main-d’œuvre pendant 3 ans ou 160 000 kilomètres, selon la première éventualité.

Boîte manuelle

Conception et performance

Lorsque vous achetez une boîte de vitesses manuelle des pièces d’origine GM, vous pouvez être sûr que vous bénéficiez de la même qualité inégalée que celle fournie avec votre véhicule neuf. Chaque transmission manuelle des pièces d’origine GM est conçue selon les spécifications GM et conçue pour s’adapter et fonctionner parfaitement et ce, dès le départ.

Une garantie nationale limitée de 1 an ou 20 000 km

Les boîtes de vitesses manuelles des pièces d’origine GM sont couvertes par une garantie limitée transférable sur les pièces et la main-d’œuvre pendant 1 an ou 20 000 kilomètres, selon la première éventualité. Raison de plus pour vous fier aux boîtes de vitesses manuelles des pièces d’origine GM.

Garantie à vie limitée sur les pièces

Le moteur, la boîte de vitesses et la boîte de transfert des pièces d’origine GM sont couverts par une garantie à vie limitée sur les pièces, offerte exclusivement chez votre concessionnaire Chevrolet, Buick, GMC ou Cadillac.

Faits sur le groupe motopropulseur

Messages concernant la boîte de vitesses sur le centralisateur informatique de bord

Si un problème au niveau de la boîte de vitesses nécessite une attention immédiate, le centralisateur informatique de bord peut afficher l’un des messages suivants :

Service de la boîte de vitesses

Ce message s’affiche s’il y a un problème avec la boîte de vitesses. Consultez votre concessionnaire pour un service de la boîte de vitesses.

Passer en mode stationnement

Ce message s’affiche si la boîte de vitesse doit être placée en mode P (stationnement, « park » en anglais). Il peut apparaître lorsque vous tentez de retirer la clé du contact alors que le véhicule n’est pas en mode P (stationnement).

Boîte de vitesse chaude - Ralentir le moteur

Le message « boîte de vitesse chaude » s’affiche si le liquide de boîte de vitesse automatique devient trop chaud. La conduite dans ces conditions peut endommager votre véhicule. Arrêtez et faites tourner le moteur au ralenti pour refroidir le liquide de la boîte de vitesses automatique. Ce message disparaît lorsque le liquide de transmission a suffisamment refroidi.

Contrôle du liquide de la boîte de vitesses automatique

La vérification du niveau du liquide de la boîte de vitesses n’est pas nécessaire. En effet, une fuite de liquide de la boîte de vitesses est la seule cause de perte de liquide. Si une fuite se produit, amenez le véhicule chez votre concessionnaire et le faire réparer dès que possible.

Il existe une procédure spéciale pour vérifier et remplacer le liquide de la boîte de vitesses. Étant donné que cette procédure est délicate, ce type de réparation de la boîte de vitesses doit être effectué par votre concessionnaire. Changez le liquide aux intervalles indiqués dans le programme d’entretien de votre Guide du propriétaire et veillez à utiliser le liquide indiqué dans la section Fluides et lubrifiants recommandés.

Le moment de faire remplacer le liquide de la boîte de vitesses automatique

Le liquide de la boîte de vitesses automatique doit être vidangé et remplacé comme indiqué dans le programme d’entretien de votre Guide du propriétaire.

Le moment de faire remplacer le liquide de la boîte de vitesses manuelle

Le liquide de la boîte de vitesses manuelle doit être vidangé et remplacé comme indiqué dans le programme d’entretien de votre Guide du propriétaire.

  • Limitations s’appliquent. Garantie sur les pièces et la main-d’œuvre lorsque celles-ci sont vendues au comptoir et RÉPARÉES par un concessionnaire GM ou un centre de service indépendant agréé, pour les véhicules routiers uniquement. Garantie sur les pièces uniquement lorsque réparées par le consommateur ou installées sur des véhicules non routiers. La couverture est limitée aux défauts de matériaux et/ou de fabrication de la pièce spécifique uniquement. Consultez Pièces de rechange des concessionnaires GM tableau de référence de la garantie pour plus de détails.